How to achieve cloudy/smoky effect on glaze

Julia.B

Hi,

I am fairly new to pottery and currently experimenting a lot with designs and different glazes/underglazes (commercially bought at the moment), there is one effect I've seen in pictures a few times which I love but I don't have the first idea how to achieve it and I'm hoping someone can help explain how it is done. I've attached a picture of one example I've seen, the effect I love is the way the white on top in this picture has a cloudy/smoky translucent effect at its edges where it overlays the colour underneath, can anyone shed light on how this works?

I'll add that currently I am working with earthenware clays and I'm not sure if it is even possible in that case but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Julia

bcab874ff32bc667f240e5c7b24279c6.jpg

You could probably to this in earthen ware.   The bottom of the plate looks like it has a stain put on it before it was glazed. The outside and inside of the rim seems to be a opaque glaze.  The bottom has a crackle glaze on one side and translucent glaze in the middle.   You would have to do some testing it find the right glazes,  making sure they work together.   I wouldn't use this on functional work,  the crackle will allow bacteria to build in the cracks.  This will eventually make the person using it ill.    Denice

1 hour ago, Denice said:

I wouldn't use this on functional work,  the crackle will allow bacteria to build in the cracks.  This will eventually make the person using it ill.

There was a recent study about the possible link between crazed glazes and bacteria. A study of this long believed theory was done by Ryan Coppage, PhD, Ruhan Farsin and Laura Runyen-Janecky, PhD. 

Heavily crazed glaze and a glaze with bubbles from off gassing were tested in a laboratory setting with a bacteria found in milk. All studies were repeated in triplicate with same results.