Kiln not reaching temperature

lukeseall

I have just bought a second hand top loading electric kiln (Potterycrafts P5976 Electric Toploader).  I completed a bisque firing to 1000 deg successfully.  I have been glaze firing today to 1240deg but from about 1170deg it has been struggling to gain temperature.  And at times it drops up to 10 degrees before it goes up again.

I have two bungs in the holes in the side but not one in the lid.  I'm fairly new to this so not sure if that is correct or not.  Any ideas what the issue might be?  The person I bought it from said that the elements were replaced recently.

I'm not sure what to do now because its been firing for waaaay longer than expected and still not up to 1240.  Any advice for a newbie would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

check to make sure the kiln voltage requirements is also the same as whats at the kiln plug in building-like foe example the kiln plate says 240 volts and the building is 208 volts.Keep the bungs in unless you need to look in at cones.

That kiln's max temp is 1300c, so it should get there.

However, unless the elements are in excellent (think new) condition, and you have a very short cable and are plugged into a socket that goes direct to the fuse board it is highly unlikely to reach that.

Are you using cones to judge the firing? 

If it has been firing for longer than you expected, it could  have fired "enough" to mature your glazes, but you will only know that from the end result or from cones..

lukeseall,  your post reminded me that lately there seem to be a number of folks who have their first kiln whether new or used.  many questions lately include the question of how long a firing should take.  whether stated or implied, many folks seem to think that firings take only a few hours and even turn off the kiln at the end  of only a few hours assuming it has fired too long.