Salt Firing Workshop

terrim8

Hi All,

I am going to a salt & soda firing workshop and I've never done this before. I have to make things to bring and so far I have made about a  half a dozen mugs out of a grey cone 9-10 stoneware, another half dozen mugs of high iron brown stoneware and four plates again of brown stoneware but with white slip (22% SiO2 in the slip) and a pattern. Any suggestions about slips, glazes, anything I can prepare ahead of time? Should I pick up some high fire porcelain and try that? Ideas???

Terri, which red stoneware are you using?

Stoneware likes soda better than porcelain in my opinion, but it depends on if you're after flashing or heavy soda deposit.

That said, one of my favourite clays in soda was porcelaineous, but it had an addition of 5% Red Art. It flashed some pretty awesome yellows and pinks. How much time do you have before the workshop, and where is it?

Hey Callie,

Its in Medicine Hat with the APA, 4 days starting Oct 12 so not much more time for clay to dry & bisque. I used H550 & H440 and some white slip on a few things to try out. I will pick up some silica sand to wedge into one of those today maybe, plus I'll make some thick slip to make textures with as per Marcia's suggestions. I could pick up some P700 maybe? Was that your fav?

Not P700, that's for sure. It does exactly what Neil describes.

I used to mix my own. The closest approximation would be if you took a mix of H570 and either H550 or 555, and wedged them up with a bit (eyeball 5%) of red art and some silica sand. Call Mike and see what he's got, mesh wise. He might suggest play sand, which will do in a pinch, but isn't ideal.

Keep an eye on the 440. It may bloat if it gets too hot. It works fine at cone 10, but when you start fluxing things out, you can't always tell. Just volunteer the pieces for the cold spots in the kiln, and they should be ok.

If you want a few pounds of H570, I have some I don't have an immediate need for.