Buying a used kiln, how do I know if it’s worth it?

I am a college student on a budget, looking to buy a used kiln. I have no idea what to look for when it comes to determining worth and ware, so I am coming here for help. The kiln I am interested in is a Skutt 1027 for $450. Seller says the kiln is in good condition and runs well, however, the photo quality isn’t the best so I’m not sure. Maybe I should ask for better pictures of the inside? I’ll attach photos of the kiln below. 

IMG_8257.jpeg

IMG_8258.jpeg

IMG_8259.jpeg

Edited by Samantha465

The kiln looks to be in pretty good shape for used. There are a few bricks that are chipped, and that is problematic, but fixable. You will notice that one of the elements has been pinned due to the broken book in the one area. I would also ask the seller if it has a setter/controller to aid in firing it.

I am sure others will horn in on this, and I would pay attention to their comments as spending that amount for a student is dedication to the craft. . . .good luck.

best,

Pres

I'm hoping the 1027 I had* is still chugging away.
Also hoping the lid on your prospective new kiln is in good shape - not broken, nor shedding bits/chunks (don't bang that lid!).
Check also the condition of the sitter mechanism. The old stands eventually rust and disintegrate - check that too.

How many firings the elements have left, that could be big! A set of elements for that kiln will co$t.
Also II, does the kiln come with furniture (shelves and stands) - both essential and expensive? ...any other helpful stuff? e.g. boxes of cones, kiln parts, tools, consumables?

*Found well before supply/demand drove used pottery equipment prices up, the former owner included a new shelf set, a box of stands, several boxes of cones, some iron oxide, and a few bits of advice as well. With relatively new elements, my otherwise crumbling 1027 gave me almost five years of service afore I gave it away (not the shelves though!).