Raku Glaze Problem

Hello, I am looking for advice regarding raku glazes that separate or fall off of a ceramic piece during firing. I have extensive experience with high fire stoneware in glaze and salt firings. My raku experience is limited to work I did 50 years ago with crackle glazes and primitive firing techniques. I make all of my own glazes and recently have experimented with raku glaze formulas published by Gary Ferguson and a Ceramic Arts Daily publication of 15 tried and true glaze recipes. Maybe someone out there is aware of these. Recipes containing bone ash, soda ash, borax and ferro frits do not brush on particularly well and then are separating from the bisque ware during firing. I have experimented with different clays, glaze thickness and clay additives without much success. When fired to temperature, the glaze remaining on the pieces is otherwise quite nice. I am anew subscriber and this is my first use of the forum. Any thoughts?

No glaze is going to brush well unless it contains a lot of Gerstley Borate or you add the necessary ingredients to make it brushable, namely CMC gum. Typically a gum solution is made with 2 tablespoons of CMC to 1 gallon of water, and the solution is used in place of 1/3-1/2 of the water in the glaze. Since your glaze(s) is already mixed, you don't want to use that solution because there will be way too much water. You could add the CMC directly to the glaze, but it's difficult to get it to mix in well doing it that way. So instead, make up some gum solution that's really thick like snot. Mix 2 tablespoons CMC and 1/4 tsp copper carbonate (preservative) with 1 quart of hot water, let it sit overnight, then blend with a stick blender. If you're using small containers of glaze like pints or quarts, add a spoonful of the snot to the glaze and blend. See how it brushes, and add another spoonful if needed.