Types of plastic wrap for pots to slow or increase drying speed.

Recently I started using pieces of a painters plastic drop sheet to cover pots as I had misplaced the roll of a different brand of plastic sheeting I had been using for years. There is a marked difference in the drying rate between the two types of plastic. It got me wondering about why this was happening.

Turns out there are at least 3 types of plastic sheeting that are broadly available and they have measurable differences in water vapour permeability.  Low density polyethylene (LDPE), polyvinyl chloride (PVC) and polyvinylidene chloride (PVdC). I don't know what the original plastic sheeting I was using was made from or the brand, it's a large roll that I've been using for many years.  The painters plastic drop sheet I just started using is this one. My hunch is that it's the type of plastic that is making the noticeable difference. Going forward I'm going to experiment further, pots I want to dry slower will get the drop sheet plastic and for ones I want to dry quicker my original roll of plastic. I should add all the pots were covered in my usual manner.