DIY Kiln Build - Asking all the WRONG questions in all the RIGHT (Hopefully) places...

Kirbcheck

Sorry for the following ramblings that are about to interrupt your evening.

Greetings and Salutations from Omaha Nebraska. I'm a Newb (literally joined a few minutes prior to this post). A few relevant threads from this forum were returned on many a Google search I've made looking for clues to building my DIY Kiln. The community seems incredibly knowledgeable and helpful.  Unfortunately, much of what I'm trying to understand goes over my head, and I could use some guidance on where to start and what decisions are necessary for my specific build.

The project:

The construction of a kiln is actually a smaller portion of a much larger project. The true project at hand is to build a Dobsonian Telescope with a 20" ~f3.4 mirror. I intend to build this from scratch including the mirror. I have done research and feel fairly confident in my DIY abilities to take on this project. However, to make the mirror I will need to Melt glass into a custom mold and then slump the blank over a second mold to achieve the parabolic shape.  Hence my need for a kiln. I have been keeping my eyes out for used kilns in my area and they are either 1. Too small or 2. Too expensive. So now I'm wondering if it would make sense to add "Building a kiln" to the list. 

Keeping it cheap but effective: