Hello! Newbie here who just did her first bisque fire ever. I have a Cress FX23p kiln with a kiln sitter. The commercial glaze that I have purchased says to apply to 04 bisqueware and then fire to cone 5 or 6. So I set my kiln sitter up with a 04 junior cone, loaded up my greenware (after much arranging and rearranging of furniture) and witness cones, and fired her up! 

I've attached a photo of the witness cones from the top and middle shelves (my kiln only has 2 peep holes so I did not place any on the bottom shelf since I wouldn't be able to view them). I had a brain fart when lining the cones up, so from left to right its  top shelf 05, 04, 03, and then bottom shelf 05, 04, 03. I realized after the fact that I should have lined them up 03, 04, 05. Worried that the 04 witness cone did not bend far enough, I did some research and found that perhaps I should have used a 03 junior cone as the junior cone will bend quicker than the witness due to the gravity of the actuating rod. The pieces came out looking like bisqueware of course but I am worried about applying the commercial glaze since it calls for it to be applied to 04 bisqueware. Should I go ahead and apply the glaze anyway?

Thank you in advance!! Let me know if you need more info provided.

5F4A5A77-227F-4B42-9F89-5A2557FFAC11_1_201_a.jpeg

Hi M!

Close enough would be my opinion, however, if the clay(s) in question are red, brown, black, enough time and oxygen to burn out the organics may be at issue - even buff or light brown clay may come out better with extra time and air. Also, if your pieces are thick/heavy, more time and air can help.

Back to close enough, your 04 has a bit o' bend, that is close!