New kiln owner with questions

I am now the owner of a Skutt 10-27 kiln.  I hadn't expected to get one but it's in fine shape, the elements are less than a year old and the price was right, so, here I am.
I've been firing gas ^10R but am happy to use this for bisque and possibly some ^6 experimentation.  Soon I'll have an electrician come to install single phase 220 for it.  

As I've no experience with it my questions are many but I'll start with these:

It's an old manual model and uses the LT 3K kiln sitter. Is there a way to convert it to a more automated controller and it such a conversion worthwhile?

Until such a conversion,  is the kiln sitter fairly trustworthy? When firing, I'll be hovering near by. For the duration I suspect.

The designated location is outside on a covered patio that's enclosed on 3 sides. Is there still a need for a ventilation kit?  The kiln was free but didn't include that.

The inside is virtually spotless and the brick is as solid, or as solid as that sort of brick can be.   No gouges or chips and very few hairline cracks.

I entrust myself to your knowledge and experience.  There is a deep well of kiln lore here.

skutt 10-27.jpg

I have same model in my studio/bike shop/workshop, started out watching cones through the peeps (with appropriate glasses), watching pyrometer readings, and taking notes. Now I'm watching the pyrometer and taking notes, but not watching the cones, although I'm still placing cones on each level to check afterward. The top and bottom run cool - the top more so; this can be mitigated via load variation/arrangement and using the three switches...

There are certainly automation options; the more straightforward/simple being stand alone controller box that your kiln and pyrometer plug into. At this point, I'm holding out on a new kiln with integrated control, however, if I changed course toward adding control to my 1027, I'd give zone (three zones, matching the switches) control a very (very!) serious look.