Glazing tiny small items

Hello, and thank you in advance for any advice.

I am gaving some issues with glazing small items. ( little earrings, studs ) 

Tried brushing, but because i don’t have a good grip i must do one side, leave it to dry and then fill the part where i held it, and usually turns out an uneven coat. 

I also tried pouring glaze over the pieces, but it gathers at the base and changes the item entirely.

And also tried glazing only the top part, but sincerely, i really want the laterals done also. 

It is my first time glazing and don’t know if the texture remains the same or there are some changes while firing ( maybe it melts a bit and becomes more even? )

thank you so much! 

Have you tried holding them with a pointed tip pair of tweezers? Brush the glaze on then when it's dry glaze the bare area where the tweezers were.

3 hours ago, Dorina said:

It is my first time glazing and don’t know if the texture remains the same or there are some changes while firing ( maybe it melts a bit and becomes more even? )

Some glazes level out, others don't. Just have to try a few test pieces and see how your glaze does.

4 hours ago, Rockhopper said:

Do your pieces have holes in them, for attaching a wire ?  If so, you could try put a string or piece of thread through the hole, and dip them in your glaze.

I also have some with holes, i found those much easier to work with. As you said, the hole helped with the grip. The ones without holes are giving me a pain.

The next question might be...once you have these little pieces glazed, how do you plan on firing them without them fusing to the kiln shelf. How are you going to support them off the shelf so they don't stick? What cone do you plan on firing them to? You have to think ahead in the overall process...