Wobbly walls while pulling the clay

Hi everyone!

I am a novice in pottery and my question might seem pretty basic. And sorry if this has already been asked, could not find the topic.

I am struggling to keep the walls of the cylinder straight and not wobbly while pulling them, especially if i aim at tall cylinders. The clay feels centred at the beginning but when i start pulling the walls from the bottom it goes a bit off and the wobble appears even more  at the top. I hold my elbows locked, position is good, the pressure i apply seems to be even. Is there anything i am missing or should pay special attention to?

Thanks,

Olena

Your hands might be traveling up the wall of the cylinder too fast. A pull involves three things: thinning the wall, moving the displaced clay up to a higher latitude, and recentering the clay you just disturbed. Sounds like you are skipping the third one. Slow down and make sure every latitude is recentered before moving up. 

In addition to what Mea said, make sure you aren’t pulling your clay out of center when you open it. I had that problem when I was first learning and it resulted in uncentered clay and then wobbly walls. Also, as your cylinder gets taller, slow your wheel down - the centrifugal force can swing it off center. You’ll get the hang of it! 

I'd like to add to what Mea and PP wrote - fully homogenized clay makes a big difference; any dryer or wetter blob, bubble or chunk disrupts the flow of the clay, hence, wobble-oh!

So, wedge, wedge, and wedge some more before even starting, and then cone up and down some. From there, if the clay won't center, likely it's not uniform.

Another point, when opening and then committing the first pull, moving the clay too much or too fast can cause a shear (partial tear), which will also disrupt the clay flow.

...and, one more suggestion - watch some folk throw, even if it's something you've seen, for you'll be watching for how they overcome the thing you're focused on now...