Beginner wanting to make ceramic tags

Mary2212

Hello, I am completely new to ceramics and pottery. I have been making and selling air dry clay tags and decorations for a few years and have been able to save to buy a home kiln. But no idea where to begin. I was booked for a course but Corona Virus has meant it cancelled twice and there are now no courses available next year due to them being uncertain if they will go ahead. I was wondering if a kiln which max fires 1300 Celsius is okay to use for ceramic tags and would I be able to fire stoneware or would I need to use earthenware. I also wanted to know what best glazes are to be used to 'paint' pictures and letters on them. Thank you I appreciate this all may sound really stupid to experienced people and I know your art is something to be learned over a long time I just want to practice and have saved for a while to do so. Thanks again

Hi Mary!

1300C (2372F), likely that's a "cone 10" kiln, hence should be able to reach mid fire, cone 5/6, reliably.

You might start out with a mid fire clay/stoneware - a smooth one, that's easy to paint on, and either "buff" or white, for the iron (and other stuff) in red and brown clay can offer challenges...

For your designs, you could start with underglazes, which should brush better than glazes, and stay put as well, perhaps Speedball, which I've found reasonably priced and easy to use (it's what the local JC Ceramic lab buys - my first experience).

May I suggest you smooth the clay where your designs will be, then bisque fire (depending on the clay you choose, perhaps to cone 06 or so) before painting on the underglaze, and finish with a coat of clear glaze before the glaze fire, being careful to keep glaze away from your kiln shelves.

Between now and your first firing, enjoy responses to your thread, look for related threads, watch some You Tube vids, perhaps read some books and magazines, and have fun!