Advice on repairing a kiln

Shelly

I’ve never used a kiln before and i would like some advice on repairing a Skutt kiln I got. It hasn’t been used in years and I haven’t had the chance yet to turn it on. Parts of the elements are broken off and I’ll have to replace them most likely. The brick sides near the bottom seem in bad shape. I would love advice on what to do first and how to go about fixing the kiln to good condition. Would I need to replace the bricks near the bottom or could I fill it in with with something? And how should I go about taking the rust off the outside of the kiln? I appreciate any replies I get! 

FE4EDB17-074F-4498-AA64-6B1B07EA539B.jpeg

836E2518-259E-4080-86C4-97F9738506DB.jpeg

2079728F-3A88-441C-AAEB-6A1AAEE11965.jpeg

1B4316A5-81CE-4E1A-8397-4FA147EB92BC.jpeg

AB3BB038-C630-4461-BF90-0869EC62DED8.jpeg

Looks like a 3 phase kiln you have there -which will need new elements anyway-Neil can guide you thru that 3 phase to single phase conversion-not sure about the control box needed?? in this conversion.

I can tell you that the outer jackets need replacing as well as any bricks that are all busted up and you need new elements (make sure you have the 3 phase at location) or get the regular 220 singel phase elements-

You can look up the prices at skutt.com to see what this will all cost-my guess is about $700-1,000$ depends on the bricks and how many jackets and what the control box may need??

I rebuilt a larger kiln this January -I only neded two bricks and all the jackets and all the elements simalair to yours.

I am a mechanical person and have done kiln work before as well.