First bisque firing suggestions

Hello...I'm new to this forum. I've been creating with clay for 5 years at a communal studio. Just purchased my first kiln (L&L) and need some advice/recommendations. I was thinking of doing my first bisque firing as follows: Two-hour pre-heat, cone 05 with no ramps but 5 min hold at top. Does this sound right? I'm using a Cone 6 clay and the pieces are very dry but I've read that a pre-heat can't hurt. Should I ramp along the way? Should I hold more (or at all) at top? Should I program cool-down? The manual isn't very helpful on the specifics even though it's about two inches thick! Thanks, in advance.

Welcome, and congratulations on your new kiln!

Unless you’re working with a really dark clay that has lots of gross things to burn off, ramps and holds aren’t necessary for the bisque. I personally don’t usually do a preheat, but I also live in a very dry area. If aren’t sure if your green ware is totally dry; you’re right, an hour or two below 100 C and a normal, slow firing cycle after that should be fine. 

2 hours ago, East End said:

Hello...I'm new to this forum. I've been creating with clay for 5 years at a communal studio. Just purchased my first kiln (L&L) and need some advice/recommendations. I was thinking of doing my first bisque firing as follows: Two-hour pre-heat, cone 05 with no ramps but 5 min hold at top. Does this sound right? I'm using a Cone 6 clay and the pieces are very dry but I've read that a pre-heat can't hurt. Should I ramp along the way? Should I hold more (or at all) at top? Should I program cool-down? The manual isn't very helpful on the specifics even though it's about two inches thick! Thanks, in advance.