raku tiles cracking

I fired 20 4"x4" raku tiles today and all but 4 broke either during the firing or as soon as they were removed from the kiln. I did fire them propped vertically on ceramic brick so I could remove them with tongs. They were hand built tiles with leaf impressions using Standard Ceramics 239 Raku clay. They  cracked in half or close to in half. What caused them to crack? (I have been doing raku firings for 40 years).

Diane

The tiles were 1/4" thick and roughly 4"x4" square. They were bisque fired to cone04. We had been raku firing for about 3 hours when the tiles were ready to go in the kiln. I warm them on the top of my Olympic Raku Kiln before putting them in. Then slowly increase the temp in the kiln. By that time the pieces were maturing in 20-30 minutes. I use Standard Ceramics 239 raku clay. I am thinking that by resting them vertically on the hot fire brick caused stress and they cracked. May have to fire them flat and figure out how to pick them up.

Diane

3 hours ago, Diane Pontoriero said:

The tiles were 1/4" thick and roughly 4"x4" square. They were bisque fired to cone04. We had been raku firing for about 3 hours when the tiles were ready to go in the kiln. I warm them on the top of my Olympic Raku Kiln before putting them in. Then slowly increase the temp in the kiln. By that time the pieces were maturing in 20-30 minutes. I use Standard Ceramics 239 raku clay. I am thinking that by resting them vertically on the hot fire brick caused stress and they cracked. May have to fire them flat and figure out how to pick them up.

Diane

Done in 20 to 30 minutes is 3600 - 5400  degrees per hour. You might want to try slowing it down a bit and see if you can still leave them vertically stacked. Even with normal wares if I make temp in 20 minutes some things seem to crack more than if I slow things up a bit. Might be worth a try for the tiles.