Underglaze on top of bisque-fired slip?

Nell

Hi,

Would it work to use a decorating slip on greenware , bisque fire it and then decorate with underglazes before clear glazing and firing? I seem to remember someone telling me that the colour of the slip would mix with the underglaze but I don't know if firing in-between would maybe help with that? 

The reason I'd like to do this is for the slip to be the background colour, as I've found it tends to be less patchy than underglaze for larger areas. And for the underglaze to be the design detail on top. 

Is that a sensible way to do it or is there a better way to achieve something like that? I'm fairly new to decorating - any advice appreciated!

I put slip and underglazes on then bisque. Then glaze and fire.  Less likely to spoil the decoration I have found . I dip glaze, would imagine brushing glaze on would be trickier  if using e the method you are asking about.

You want to test the underglazes reactions to your glaze on vertical tile as some will bleed and run. You need a stable non running clear glaze for starters.

Thank Babs.

I'm not worried about the glazing part - when I've dipped bisque decorated with just underglaze it's been fine for the most part.

What I'm not sure about is using decorating slip and underglazes together, and how those colours work together (I should say here that I'm using Duncan Concepts which I'm pretty sure are for bisque only although I know some are suitable for greenware as well). 

Cheers :)

4 minutes ago, neilestrick said:

if they don't mix together during application, they won't mix during firing

Thanks Neil.  That was my concern. That if I had, say, a black slip background and painted a white underglaze pattern on top that it would turn out grey - essentially a mix of the top layer and the bottom layer. 

Out of interest, do you think doing the slip before bisque firing and the underglaze afterwards would make any difference at all to putting them both on leather hard?