creating structurally sound face sculpture

Araceli

Hello everyone.

I'm new to sculpting, zero experience. I made several faces/masks which I plan to use in a mosaic. I made two faces and they lacked the details necessary to make them compelling, so I read through Portrait Sculpting by Faraut and started my adventure into sculpting. The techniques demonstrated in the book greatly enriched the third face I made.

My process:

I created a paper base from newspaper,  added a layer of clay for the base and used this as the skeletal foundation, as a result the face/mask is hollow. From there I used some of the techniques outlined in the book, like adding the socket and eyeballs, then laying the skin over that. Adding muscle tissue and fat pockets. In short it greatly improved the final result: she was beautiful. I left everything to dry for about 3 weeks with a plastic bag. Each of the  faces were about 8"x6" and 1/2" thick. I  fired up my kiln cress FX23p kiln for the first time and filled it up with all three faces, a torso... it was packed. This was my first bisque firing.

Every single piece turned out great except for the one piece I really cared about: the third face.  I loved every effect I had created in the face and to my delight the burnishing  turned out even more beautiful than I had hoped.  Sadly,   the nose  in the third face "exploded". But the first two faces I had created were fine. So I did something different in the third face that lead to the explosion.   Before I attempt to recreate the face using the techniques I learned, I want to understand what I did wrong with the nose.

Can I  get some tips on what are some "best practices" to prevent these types of problems in the future? The following are my observations and concerns:

• The nose was about an inch thick, so I think that was part of the problem.