Best Glazes For Novice To Paint On Pottery Starter Kit

Viddy

Dear esteemed Ceramic Artists,

I am a novice potter with a history in painting.  I live in Brazil where supplies are very expensive and I am operating on a budget.  I have a friend visiting from the States and I would like her to bring me some glazes.  My question is this:  I will be using a low fire kiln and want to get a good range of glazes to make foodsafe pieces.  I want to be able to mix colours and paint images with glaze -(it has been suggested I get majolica style glazes to be able to paint on the pieces and see the results).  I have been trying to understand the terms and the huge variety of products out there and that brings me to you...  for example, AMACO has a series of glazes called Teacher's Pallet which suggests that you could mix their red with yellow and achieve an orange.  I want to be able to see what I am painting and I want the colour on the unfired piece to look the same when I fire it.  I would appreciate any advice that would help me put together a "beginner's kit" that would allow me to mix and create a full spectrum of colours.  What products or manufacturers could you suggest for me?  Thank you VERY much for your time.