Clay Plasticity Wrong?

Hey Everyone! 

This is the first time that I have been on here and I am extremely looking forward to being a part of this amazing online community!

Buuut most importantly I have a clay question for all of our leading clay experts and home clay mixers out there.

For about three years now I have been mixing a cone 10 stoneware body of clay for a college university (I am an undergraduate ceramics major and studio assistant here.) and over the three years time doing so I've notice that the clay doesn't really have any plasticity to it. When I throw with this body it seems and feels porous. It doesn't stretch well and certainly doesn't throw for good bowls. Lastly, I can not use it for handles on attachments. When I pull and then shape the handles it simply cracks where the curve of the handle begins. When I make the clay I typically allow it to sit for about two weeks before I use it but this does not seem to solve the problem either. The formula I use to make the body is as follows:

Hawthorn Bonding- 5 Parts

Foundry Hill- 5 Parts

Red Art- 1 Part

Ball Clay- 2 Parts

Feldspar- 1 Part

Fine Grog- 1.5 Parts

If anyone could give me any tips on how I could achieve a greater plasticity like the Cone 10 Stoneware that you can buy from clay suppliers that would be extremely helpful!

Thanks Again,

Harley

The standard answers are. A. Bentonite. B.wet mix (blunge mix) clay then dry to consistiency. C. Age it....

I cannot comment on regarding recipe I've never tested ingredients.

Some swear that moldy clay is more plastic. i like get a clay moldy especially porcelain. . I keep a few rags around and "inoculate" other clay.

But even without aging I've been able to get poreclaineous clays to be quite plastic.