Wheel Woes.....Part 2

Hi all, I still have a problem with my wheel, and after talking to someone at my art center, and with the people here, I am sure that my wheel head is bent and "not true" ever so slightly. But, since I am fairly new to wheel turning and this has been problematic, I was pretty bummed to find this out! But, after working with it, I decided I had two options, three at best: I could sell it and hope to get my money out of it and advertise it as "not true", I could give up, or I could force myself to learn to use it. It hasn't been an easy two weeks, but things are getting easier and I have managed to turn a few small pots on it, so needless to say, I am learning to use it.

Buying replacement parts aren't an option for me right now, we don't have the funds. BUT - here lies my problem now.....how do you trim a foot on a pot when the wheel is not true? I have tried a few, but if the wheel is not centered, then how do I get my foot "centered"? Or am I making too much out of this? lol

Thank you!

Charlene

I am not an expert potter- but all wheels have a center and i would think once you find it's center for trimming it should be fine. What I do sometimes when I am feeling rusty is put some slopy slip on the wheel and just move my hands on the wheel,... find the center, draw my finger out the the edge, go back to center etc to get my body into the state of mind I need to be to throw. I feel like I have to be in a sort of "half meditative state". The minute my mind enters the picture everything flops. One thing that helps is to NOT look at the wheel... look forward and let your mind empty.