Underglaze Flaking Off

Greetings and much thanks for this forum! I am using underglazes on a white earthenware clay body and often the underglaze flakes off after firing slowly to 05 and cooling slowly. I've been applying the underglaze to very leather hard clay. I'll do some experimenting, but might anyone save me some time by pointing me in the right direction re: apply it when it's wetter? drier? after bisque firing? Or are there other variables I should manipulate first? Thanks.

Hi Lucy, I'm not an expert but I do some underglazing and terra sigs.

If the application is too thick this can sometimes happen. I have applied underglaze both on unfired and bisque pieces and prefer unfired due to my clear glaze over top sometimes combines with the underglaze and produces fury edges. Hope this helps. Would like to have some others view on this.

Hi Lucy, I'm not an expert but I do some underglazing and terra sigs.

If the application is too thick this can sometimes happen. I have applied underglaze both on unfired and bisque pieces and prefer unfired due to my clear glaze over top sometimes combines with the underglaze and produces fury edges. Hope this helps. Would like to have some others view on this.

There is another option. That is to mix a little of the same clay as the piece you made with the underglaze before applying to the piece just before leather hard, so they dry at the same rate and combine better.

I don't have much experience with low-fire clays, but I prefer applying underglaze to unfired bisque, too. Or to bisque and then refiring it before glazing. If you apply the underglaze too thickly, it will crack--you can often see this happening as it dries. In addition, some underglazes are extra refractory (copper comes to mind) and will resist your glaze if applied too thickly.