Just how paranoid should I be about clay dust?

Hello.

I'm very new to clay and even sculpting in general, but I have recently taken an interest to it, and so three days ago I decided to buy a block of wet clay (pure clay, not polymer), to try it out. I've been doing some small pieces, and letting them dry to test consistencies and such of the material, and so far, I'm really loving it, and it's really cool to be able to realize something in actual 3d with your hands and physical tools, and I love how it soft the clay feels, and it's generally great fun.

Now, the first think I usually do before trying out a new medium, is read up on how to handle it safely - oil paints, for instance, might just burn your house if you aren't careful - but it never occurred to me to read up on clay handling safety beforehand (and I do feel stupid about that, don't worry); well, today I did, and found about clay dust. I saw some things that are simple enough to do, like not leaving clay on the ground, and using mops instead of brooms, but the whole thing just seems like nightmare fuel, because it looks nearly impossible to avoid, and from my point of view it just seems inevitable that your lungs will get filled with this thing. Now I'm wondering if even just brushing dry clay with my finger couldn't release that dust, or if rubbing my hands together when they are covered in drying clay could be a problem.