^04 for dinnerware?

Tww2005

I am almost a complete beginner when it comes to ceramics. I took a few classes in school, but nothing in almost 15 years. I have been doing a lot of research, but I keep coming across conflicting information about how safe or reliable a ^04 glazed mug would be for use, not daily use, but still functional. 

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Lots of people make and use lowfire functional pots. Having a well fitting glaze is really important, you want to avoid glazes that craze on lowfire. Microwaving can make the handles on lowfire mugs too hot to comfortably pick up if the clay absorbs water over time. You might want to glaze the mugs all over and fire them on stilts. What you are trying to do is avoid the clay from soaking up moisture. There are recipes for lowfire fritware but you likely don't want to get into making those.

Tww2005,

This discussion of Earthenware vs Stoneware and other higher firing clay bodies has been covered in other strands. A search in the Home page will bring up many discussions on the topic. In the long run, it may come to the understanding that all pottery needs to be made, glazed, and fired carefully. I work with  ^6 stoneware, and use a tight range ^5-^6 clay body that I have tested extensively, glazes that are for ^6 again tested on the clay bodies I use. I also test my ware with simple tests for leaching -vinegar sitting in the piece for a few days, I run pieces through multiple dishwasher runs and leave one sitting in dishwasher detergent for several days. I put pieces in the microwave and check them for heating up and other post heating cracking etc. Put them in the oven the same. Testing is of great importance.