Electric-Propane kiln conversion advice

BecMoore

I’m a recent grad working on setting up a studio space on a really tight budget, and my current plan is to convert an old electric kiln I got for free into a propane-fueled gas kiln. My original plan was to fire it with a pair of propane weed burners, (like simon leach’s conversion) but it’s occurred to me that could be a safety issue during an overnight preheat. 

I’m planning to once-fire most of my work to cone 10 reduction, and I’m used to the university gas kilns, which use  Venturi burners with pilot lights and safety shut offs. 

My usual firing schedule is an 8-10 hour overnight preheat, bring it up to cone 06 slowly (4-5+ hours, reducing 012-09) and then up to 10 quickly(1-2+ hours) and letting it cool naturally. Obviously I’ll be monitoring the kiln while it’s firing, but I’m worried about the preheat. On the other hand, I don’t have a ton of money laying around until I can start firing work to sell, and proper kiln/forge/raku burners are prohibitively(for now)expensive. 

Does anyone have any advice for this? Maybe an inexpensive burner actually designed for long-term use? Or an alternative firing schedule that doesn’t call for me to be awake and alert for 16-24 hours?

Is the overnight preheat actually necessary in your setup if you fire bone dry pieces? I just finished a Raku course at a local college and noted that they ran a lonnnggg preheat on their gas kilns, but that was because much of the work put into the kilns for bisque firing was not bone dry due to time considerations . Their bisque firings lasted a couple of days.

Another thing to think about is how you are going to control the preheat temp with the weed burners over your 8-10 hour stretch. I believe Leach's setup was for a Raku kiln designed for a fast firing to ^06, not ^10.

JohnnyK