Carving Porcelain

I am just beginning to try carving porcelain. I am waiting until its leather hard, but when carving out larger areas, the surface gets very lumpy and uneven. Seems like I just make it worse when I try to smooth it out. I love to carve but this is frustrating me. I am using a variety of tiny loop tools. Thanks

Hi Susie and welcome to the forum!

I can imagine your frustration trying to produce large, flat areas with the loop tools. When I try to trim larger feet with small (1/4",1/2") trimming tools, I can never get them as smooth as I would like.

What you need is a large flat trimming tool, one that you could scrape the large areas flat. You probably already have it, it's a stainless steel rib.

My favorite trimming tools are my stainless and mild steel ribs. They will take off shavings of clay in large, flat areas, and you can control the depth and width of the cut.

By angling the ribs, you can fit them into the areas you have to scrape.

Some of your ribs may be too large for some areas, so you can cut them in half, or even cut off small slivers for scraping tiny areas.

You can even sharpen the edge of the rib/scraper with a file, to improve the cutting. What you want is the tiniest burr of metal on the edge, which will cut beautifully.

If you try letting the clay get slightly harder than leather hard, you can really get precise with sharp tools.

Furniture makers used to use,(and some still use) a metal scraper in which they can shave large area of wood to get them super smooth; this before the days of planers and sanding systems.