Outdoor Sculptural Piece Needs Strong Assembly

cwarzecha

This piece (pictured below) I made is going to be an outdoor sculpture on display for a year. It's made with a clay that will withstand the outdoors. It is made from stacking sections of 7 or 8 attached donut-shaped flat rings. I'm wondering if anyone knows a good way for me to make sure it won't fall over or get damaged by people touching it. I'm sort of at a loss, as I wasn't expecting to be chosen, and now have to come up with a solution to make it extremely sturdy. I'm thinking of something that can run up the center, or maybe some sort of grout that I can use to attach the pieces (even though that will make transporting it afterwards extremely difficult). Any suggestions? I'm open to anything, because I only have a couple of weeks to figure this out, and as a grad student, I already have a lot on my plate. Thanks in advance.

post-24117-0-18564900-1379639545_thumb.jpg

post-24117-0-18564900-1379639545_thumb.jpg

Nice looking forms.  How large is the "donut" hole -- large enough that you could fill the interior with sand or pea gravel?  That would give it some resistance.  I also thought of a base with a dowel or piece of rebar going from bottom to top.  You might want to think about caps for the top . . . to keep water/snow/other precipitation from collecting inside the forms.