Is my bat the problem?

Hi! I'm fairly new to pottery and I've been using the bat that came with my brent wheel. One side of the bat has an oblong hole. This seems to make the bat move a bit when I'm throwing. It seems that I can't center (even though I've centered fine in a previous pottery class). Also, when I'm centering, the wheel is almost making a knocking sound. Is the bat the problem? If so, how can I fix this?

The knocking is likely from the bat slipping. The oblong hole is not ideal, but that's how Brent makes them. There are other bats on the market that do not have oblong holes, like Northstar, but another solution is a BatMate or Bat Gripper. There's a few on the market but I know Xiem and Bailey both have a version. It's a think piece that sits under the bat and gives it more grip. My students love them.

Hi Kalyssa, welcome to the Forum!

A few of my bats clunk;  the fit on the pins isn't tight. The clunking goes away once the clay is closer to being centered - that's been my experience; once the force on the clay is constant and even, the bats don't move.

You might need a few more bats? Compare/contrast your problem bat against one that fits snugly to confirm?