animal bones shards as stilts for stoneware?

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Bones won’t survive the heat of the kiln. (think cremation)

edit: I was rethinking what I wrote and looked up using bones for stilts. Came across the following article, turns out you can you bones. Link is behind a paywall but you can access 3 free articles a month.

https://ceramicartsnetwork.org/daily/article/Wadding-for-Wood-Firing

Edited by Min

I've no practical knowledge, so treat this all a here-say

I'm interested in how you get on, but ...

- I don't think either bones -- or seashells -- will survive high firing sufficiently intact to act as a stilt.
- I doubt that bones will help form a "glaze" in the same way that seashells do.

Firstly I think shells are used as a separator between the pot and clay wadding placed inside the shell. Shells seem a much better shape for this than most bones.
Effective Side Firing
https://ceramicartsnetwork.org/pottery-making-illustrated/pottery-making-illustrated-article/Effective-Side-Firing#
While wadding is traditionally only used in atmospheric kilns to prevent pots from sticking to the shelves, it is necessary for side firing in electric kilns.  Sea shells turn to powder (calcium oxide) during the firing, and will not support the weight of a pot.  Using wads under the shells prevents the pot from falling onto the drip tray and sticking to it.

Secondly the chemistry is different, perhaps critically so.
Shells in Ceramics
https://www.weloveclay.com/read/53007/53007/