High School Slip Casting

Hi, I'm brand new here and looking to get some input for my high school classroom.

I'm a first year teacher in a ceramics room. I was having a conversation with an employee at the district level about some ideas I have for what direction I would like to take the program in. A lot of the equipment is very old and in need of some updates. One of the things I mentioned is that I would eventually like to do mold making and slip casting with some of my more advanced students. I say eventually because I have never actually done anything like this before, but was interested in learning and would then want to share that knowledge with my students once I feel comfortable. Last night they told me they want to fund this project and need me to tell them what I need to get started right away so they can order everything for the next school year.

I'm a bit overwhelmed by the amount of options there are out there and am unsure of what the best route is to take for high school students. The other problem is that they would prefer that I find some sort of "kit" they can buy rather than a bunch of individual items and I'm not sure that exists. Any advice you guys can share would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the Forum Artisunteacher.

Its a broad question with many answers. I don't  think there are any "kits" out there that you could purchase. (The only kit I know of might be for casting hands or feet of newborns.)

One way you might approach it is to have your students bring in something they would like to be molded and YOU make the mold.  (Have a Casting Day/Party type of thing.) They could then use the resulting molds to make items that they desire. That way you might stimulate their enthusiasm, for using molds, but avoid any mold making disasters that might occur if they do the casting themselves.  

Good question!

Would it not take some time to: