Bartlett controller - over firing issue?

Wayne2

Hi, I am not new to programming computers, but I am new to programming kilns and have learned a lot from the postings in this group. Thanks to all who have posted.

Kiln-an older three zone Cone Art Kiln BX 2327-1. Elements (6) are relatively new and have been obtained from reputable sources. The controller is a Bartlett Genesis Model LT3140. Its printout:
Software 3.26.0
Serial 799801015
network genesis
Type K max temp 1315C

We tried the C6IRED Firing Schedule from Digital Fire, (top temperature is 1204C or 2200F), but the cone packs (large cones) in all 3 zones were fired to over cone 7, which if I am interpreting the Orton temperature charts correctly is over 1255C. The firing took a bit over 12 hours (Insight suggests it should be around 9:51).

Despite the cone pack evidence, the graph output from the controller suggests that it did what it was programmed to do, going a bit over 1200C.

This kiln is in a group pottery and we fired another load to keep up the output. I assumed a linear thermocouple response and subtracted 50C from the peak, shoulders, and that last segment of the C6IRED numbers, leaving the ramp speeds the same. The kiln just reached Cone 5 and the firing took almost 14 hours (Insight suggests it should have been around 9:36.)

I am not totally sure what really needs fixing but suspect it may be the motherboard.

My first thought it was a thermocouple issue, but the controller hasn’t indicated a failure and they do not look corroded. They are what the local pottery store sells for the kiln, unmarked 8 gauge type K inserts.

The second thought i that it is the motherboard. It was replaced about a year ago, but may be either misconfigured or failing. Aside from the over firing, the WiFi is not working and its acceptance of user input seems a little spotty/irregular.