How to Bisque fire - Jen-Ken kiln

Audrey Young

I'm a newbie & am working with porcelain clay. I've made some pendants. I've dried the pieces to bone dry.  Also preheating my kiln at 200 degrees for a few hours.  My question after the preheat is how do I accomplish a bisque firing.  I'm using a JenKen programmable kiln, but haven't been able to find info on this topic. Is there anyone on this forum who could point me in the right direction? Please advise.

Hi Audrey,

Regarding working with your kiln's controller, please identify the particular model (the controller), and/or post a picture of the controller's programming interface and any identifying plate/information.

There are archived threads on this forum on the general subject of bisque firing ...somewhere!

This article might be a good start:
Bisque (digitalfire.com)
There are many other articles on Tony Hansen's digitalfire.com site, watch the clock, you might find several hours have passed afore you know it!

There are several variables to consider, some:

the clay's target cone; you'll very likely want to bisque fire to a lower cone;
  how "dirty" the clay is - you might want to incorporate "holds" in your bisque schedule to burn out undesirables if/when you use dirty clay;
  how thick and/or big your wares are - you might look to slow down for thick/massive wares;
  how much air/oxygen is being drawn through the kiln - oxygen helps burn out those impurities and helps your elements last longer.

I don't do much preheat when the wares are bone dry, just run up to 200F the night before, leaving all the peeps open, then full gas the next morning.
If I have damp wares, I'll do the same, just being much more careful not to run over 210F, run the kiln fan for a few hours, then run up the temp again before turning in for the night, next day, full gas. My wares aren't particularly thick though...

On 9/22/2022 at 5:28 PM, Audrey Young said: