Olympic 129 Cone 6 Kiln

McOnions

I was able to pick up this kiln at a very low price.  I’m very new to pottery and just trying to learn.  This kiln is rated cone6, so I imagine it would be fine for bisque firing, but will it have issues glazing in cone 6 glazes?  I’m not sure how old the elements are as I have not tested.  Other threads made me thing It wouldn’t get hot enough for cone6 glazes.  What do you guys think?

It will get to cone 6 only if the elements are in very good condition. You'll get maybe 30 firings before they'll need to be changed. If you're glaze firing to cone 6, ideally you want a kiln that goes to cone 8 or 10, as the elements can wear a lot more before they need changing- about 80 firings for a cone 8 kiln, 135-150 for a cone 10 kiln.

With different elements it could run hotter, but that would require a lot of other changes to the kiln to accommodate the higher amperage draw.

16 minutes ago, McOnions said:

Is there any documentation on what would need to make the change?

No, it would be a total DIY job. New elements, upgraded wiring and power cord, and you'd need an electrical line that could handle it, so you'd probably have to install a new line. 

congrats on having a kiln!   you might even decide to try cone 06 earthenware for awhile.  there is nothing wrong with making earthenware pottery, it has a long history and many contemporary potters are very happy with it.   as you progress with learning to make things you like, you might even continue to use earthenware permanently. 

will you now be able to establish your own home studio or are you using some public facilities these days?

I do plan on getting a wheel and setting up a little studio.  Currently I’m taking a class and learning the basics.  I think the earthenware will be fine for me.  I wasn’t sure if upgrading the kiln  would save money over time by replacing the elements less often.