Looking for Cone 6 Glaze book

Chantay

Hi all, looking for a book recomendation for someone that is interested in learning to mix their own glazes. I am a beginner potter. I started with low fire clay and have always used store bought glazes. I enrolled in a ceramic class at the local junior college. Huge disappointment. Although the instructor seems very knowledgeable, glaze mixing is not usually taught. So looking to do a transition to mid-fire clay and glazes. I already have my own kiln and am looking for a used wheel.

I appreciate any and all help. This forum is great. I am so grateful to all the people who contribute here.

-chantay

Guest JBaymore

Hi and welcome to the forums.

One of the best books on the cone 6 glaze subject is "Mastering Cone 6 Glazes" by John Hesselberth and Ron Roy.

But you might want to be looking for a class or workshop that gets you going in the right dierection with a lot of the basics first. They do exist, but you might have to travel a bit to find what you need.

Books and forums are good... but nothing beats a hands-on experience.

best,

................john

Mastering Cone 6 Glazes is excellent for introduction to the concepts of fluxes, altering recipes etc. It also compliments Glaze Master computer software.

Another good book is on Cone 6 Glazes is Michael Bailey's Book. he breaks down glazes by fluxes and discusses their effects and shows test tiles.

it is written from a British perspective and has an international equivalency for frits among other things.

both books are great for learning how to work with and develop glazes.

Marcia