Kiln venting

moonzie

Hi folks,

First time posting. :) I'm pretty new to ceramics but my wife has been doing it for a few years now.

We built a tiny studio in a 12x12 room in our garage. In it, we have a tiny L&L E18S-3 kiln we bought from L&L new. I built a vent system collection box and piped it outside of our garage. It's 4" metal pipe, 3 90 bends on the suction end, total run length is about 25 or 30 feet. The fan is located in another part of the garage in my attempt to minimize any chances of fumes leaking into the room via the positive pressure end of the fan.  This is the fan I used:

https://www.amazon.com/Hydro-Crunch-Inline-Booster-Grounded/dp/B072N332WT/

Problem is, there are lots of fumes in the room (esp. early into the firing) and some corrosion/discoloration around the lid began shortly after we started using it. When the fan is running, I tried holding a lighter up to the single 1/4" hole we drilled in the center of the floor of the kiln and it gently pulls the flame down into the hole. I have a video of this in my review of the fan on the page I mentioned above. I feel no movement of air coming out the exhaust end of the pipe. We tried the smoke test around the lid of the kiln - nothing was being drawn in around the lid (with the peep holes pluged). 

I did not cut any bypass holes/slots into the collector box.

I installed a room vent and it helps, but I wasn't expecting as much fumes as we are. Do I need to install a beefier vent fan? Everywhere, I read about CFM and various tests, but nobody mentions static pressure. I'm thinking I need to make a manometer to get this sorted out right. I know the motor should be outside the vent, but an inline duct fan was easier to install.

Help!

Edited by moonzie

18 minutes ago, moonzie said:

I did not cut any bypass holes/slots into the collector box.