Porcelain and black clay

Moh92

Hey everybody,

I'm so glad to join this community .:lol:

I'm a beginner and I've been doing pottery for 6 months now. I have few questions and I'd love to have some answers.

I'm planning to make decorative objects/sculptures mostly not functional just as home décor ornaments and not more than 1 inch in thickness. I used many kinds of stoneware clay before but this time I wanna try PSH white porcelain #909 and black clay 540i and both are cone 6. The reason why I wanna try porcelain is that I want the fired piece to be an actual white and not warm yellowish white that white stoneware clay usually shows after firing.
Just wondering if anyone has tried these 2 to make sculptures or ornaments or even vases/pots before, I'd like to know what are the cons and pros.

Another question : is it neccessary to fire the pieces twice ?? I'm not planning on glazing them and wanna leave them with the raw finish black and white and only speckle some stuff on them with underglaze. Is there any cons for firing only once ? 
Thank you and sorry for the long topic :)

• Moh92 changed the title to Porcelain and black clay

Hi Moh!

I haven't yet (and may never get around to it) tried working with porcelain, but have been through a bag of black (cone 5) clay.

The black clay I tried fired to a very nice colour, smooth finish, and strong; it took several of my glazes well, if not so much my liner glazes. It was prone to bloating and fizzing/bubbling. In short, it can be finicky to work with. For unglazed work, well, that solves some of the problems! Still, watch for the bloat - bisque thoroughly and careful not to over fire.

The reasons I'm replying (aside from Welcome!):

a) an inch thick may be problematic. When you get to design and execution, maybe look into thinner sections, particularly when working with black clays.

b) you might get brilliant white by glazing white stoneware, and/or applying slip or engobe to your white stoneware...