Newbie: advice on drawing small lines on clay

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner, attending classes of pottery, untill quarantine closed classes.  I was left alone. Right now, our professors started selling a kit - some clay and 2 prechosen colours. Technique is as follows: prepare clay, form whatever you want; wait for ~2 days; then paint with engobe, allow to dry, bring to studio for firing.  I tried to draw an ornament resembling "dancing fires", but it was a real fiasco. A mockery of what I have imagined.

My brushes failed - either no line at all or too big. Not to worry, I could scratch engobe with tool designed for that, but this turned out to be a complete failure. One shop in my country had some tool, but my capsule for any liquid was very small, so I could not use it.

Since my plate was not fired (impossible at home), I could not use what in English is called "Preglaze pencils/charcoals".

Out of any options, I have to adress you, the experts.  What I need is some tool, resembling fountain pen [in my imagination], that I could fill with engobe and then draw whatever I want to.
Brushes are not an option, they just fail to obey me.
Scratching produces so miserable results that I just hate them.
Question: is there any tool available to buy online that fits my situation? As long as it is not super-expensive and is on any reputable online shop, it's ok for me.

*Please excuse my English. It is not my native, so some terms may sound wrong/bizzare.

Fine lines can be achieved when the clay is at the leather hard stage without a brush. Leather hard is when the piece has dried to the point it is stiff, but not totally dry. At this stage you can scratch lines into the clay without the clay flaking.

1. Cover the piece in wax resist.

2. Scratch the lines through the wax and into the clay with a need tool.

3. Let it sit for a bit and brush away any rough edges.

4. Fill in the lines with underglaze. No need to be neat here, as the wax will protect the piece.