Cress kiln turned off before cone in sitter melted

I am new to using manual kiln sitter kilns.  Recently I purchased from the original owner a Cress B-1411 built in 1980 it is 115v 20 amps.  She said she purchased it new and only fired it twice.   I had it wired into the same 60amp circuit as my 240V Skutt knowing that I could only fire on kiln at a time.  I started a test fire a couple days ago but had to end it as I ran out of time all elements were glowing.  Today I placed a new cone 5 bar in the sitter put it on low 2hr, everything was good...then medium 2hr.... still good then turned it up to high my hope was it take an additional 4 hrs though I had no clue as it is the first fire.  Short of the four hour mark the lights were no longer on and the elements were not red the cone bar had not melted I snapped it making the sitter trigger off, and my witness cones 4, 5, 6 had not melted and barely changed color, still brittle.  I could not restart I held the sitter and pushed the plunger again and nothing...kiln was still hot but not scorching, was it just too hot?  No thumbwheel  just two dials with settings slow, medium, high pic below.  It did not trip my circuit my Skutt still registered the air temp so it had power. Any ideas?  Thanks in advance.

B06B9D3F-56C3-4155-9FCF-8A21B0FEF25F.jpeg

When you say you held the sitter, do you mean you lifted the claw part, or the hammer that flops down? If you were lifting the claw part at the top that’s held in place by the cone or bar, that’s not the part that actually turns it on or off. It’s the hammer/weight at the bottom that does the falling.  If you lift that part up again and push the button in firmly, and lower the weight again very carefully it should stay on. You’ll have to turn it off again yourself: you have no backups at that point.