Glazing help with dark brown stoneware 70

Sherril

Hi, I have been handbuilding with clay for a couple of years now. I bought a slab roller which is wonderful! Now I'm getting more into the science of glazing. Self taught,  (with a well known potter to ask advice from). I am selling well and with each new piece I learn so much. The owner gave me a Laguna #70 to work with and it comes out a deep brown. It has manganese in it and the glazes respond in unusual ways. I have a new piece to glaze which on the underside I practiced burnishing and lots of texture on the inside. My desire is to learn how to work with the beauty of the inherent qualities of the Clay body, and so will leave the bottom burnished and am considering Amaco celedon snow C-10 for the inside and some color for the big tooth aspen leaf. 

I just received a book on glazing (Amazing Glaze, Gabriel Kline), with recipes and hope to one day make my own glazes. For now I am looking for tips and ideas on working with these clay bodies that have manganese (#70) and also magnesium flecks (#50). I like the organic textural qualities of the flecks, but glazes react much differently than the #65 white stoneware that I've been using.  As well, I have no control over the firing process as my work is included with others and fired as the studio owner determines. I do know she is firing to come 5-6 with a hold at the end up to 10 sometimes. 

I am including a couple of pictures (the textured platter is in leather hard stage). The glazed picture is with a Mayco Norse Blue and the leaves are ungerglazes. As you can see the finish is off, but someone bought it!) I have a lot to learn still, but I absolutely love working with the clay. I am 61 and have been an artist of many mediums, paint, wool felting, gem and mineral polishing and wrapping.... now that pottery has grabbed me, it satisfies all my artistic loves... and the science of glazing is SO stimulating! 

IMG_2729.JPG.ec2709f5b41bb7f407ec391ca8cad878.JPG