Crumbling during bisque firing

I’m a newbie at doing my pottery solo., without instructor. I have had a bottom of a mug and feet on another piece crumbling during firing. It doesn’t happen every time which leads me to thinking that it’s in the way I’m attacking. I slip and score and attach. The point is attachment is fine one at the seams, it’s more away from the slip and score. I Let dry completely. Bisque fire to 04 with a hold of 5 minutes in an electric auto Skutt. Any help is certainly appreciated.

5 minutes ago, Carol B said:

I’m a newbie at doing my pottery solo., without instructor. I have had a bottom of a mug and feet on another piece crumbling during firing. It doesn’t happen every time which leads me to thinking that it’s in the way I’m attacking. I slip and score and attach. The point is attachment is fine one at the seams, it’s more away from the slip and score. I Let dry completely. Bisque fire to 04 with a hold of 5 minutes in an electric auto Skutt. Any help is certainly appreciated.

If you can post a couple pictures that would help. From your description it’s hard to figure interface, parent material or attached item. Since it’s on the bottom, gravity usually keeps these things in contact during the firing even when not attached well unless these legs are configured and extend outside the plane of the mug enough to produce a twisting moment on the joint.

Unfortunately I have already tried taking the feet off to salvage piece. But I’ve scraped up crumbles (pic) and show underside after scraping off remaining fit (pic). I cannot compress my files to attach. Will have to read up to do so.  Will be back when I can figure out.

40 minutes ago, Carol B said:

Oh it didn’t break at point of attachment but crumbled in the middle of foot that was not attached to bottom.