What additions to stiffen ash glazes

jafa5

I've been making ash from a number of sources over the past months and found a few local sources of volcanic ash. So I started testing and had some awesome results with pearlescent blues and pinks. Pretty stoked :)

I'm using a matte clear glaze base that works well in both of my main kilns (gas and electric). I'm using a straight 10% addition of ash as my starting point without any changes to the base.  Thought being that if I get anything cool from I'll progress it.

The results are usually very runny, especially with wood ash and vegetation ash, so wanted to ask how do I start to compensate for this, knowing that each ash will have a different composition?

I have no chemistry background but learning fast and really after some understanding as to where I start that process. I have a basic grasp of glaze composition and my instinct tells me to up the alumina and reduce the Silica but I couldn't back that up with any sound reasoning haha. I just joined up with Insight and will start some tutorials this week and thought this would be a good starting point.

From other discussions I know I can replace feldspars with volcanic ash and that's worked well but i've not had runny issues with the volcanic ash.  Not yet anyway, touch wood.

VC72 Base glaze ( from John Britts mid fire) fired to cone 6 in either gas or electric:

24 Nepheline syenite

40 Silica

4 whiting

7 Kaolin

11 dolomite

12 Gerstly borate 

2 zinc oxide

2 bentonite

The finished glaze is very smooth and glassy so presume the ashes are high in Silica? 

Cheers,

Liam