Dust collection in studio!

Lowfi

Hi all,

I work out of my garage and am accumulating quite a bit of dust.  I wet mop occasionally but I'll be honest, it could be much cleaner in there.  Years of woodworking has not helped the situation at all.  I have small children at home so I would really like to clean up the space and keep the airborne contaminants out of the area. 

My question is this. 

What would be the best way to remove dust from the space?

My first thought was to hang a HEPA filter from the ceiling (~$200-250) but I am thinking there will be a ton of clogging.  I am not a production potter by any means so my use isnt huge, I am just trying to put safety first for once in my life.

My second thought was to have a regular old shop vac OUTSIDE of the garage and run the tubing through the wall so that I can vacuum up debris and then any dust that escapes would be outside of my house? Could this possibly work...ie; a regular woodworking dust collection system combined with a hanging HEPA filter?

I've looked all over this site and found some members that have pieced together a system from Oneida but I'm just trying to get some more recent examples and clarity.

Thank you so much for the help!

Cheers!

Sean

mark cortright has the best system i have ever seen, though i have not actually been there.  "pieced together" is not necessarily bad, just  made by a competent individual to suit an individual need.  saying custom made sounds better.   that is what yours will be when it is finished.

I suggest you run that shop vac system outside and use that to vacuum up the garage space. I'm the guy with the oneida/central vacuum system. The hepa bags get clogged fast so I tend to use non hepa bags as the exist is outside. Clay dust is hard on the motors so keep this in mind. I wrote about this in my post you found.I would run a cheap shop vac as it will be dead in the future if lots of clay goes thru it. Better it than you.