A Question About Glazing An Existing Brick

Ginaragsdale

Is it possible to glaze the face if an existing reclaimed brick? Brick is approx 60 years old, solid, made of clay. Is there a specific type of kiln, heat, glaze?

Is there a danger in firing a brick of which content is unknown?

I am a demolition contractor and simply obsessed with trying to make use out of the thousands of tons of materials (bricks). I have been "slicing" the bricks, making "tiles", but now want to apply glaze.

It is important to know the temperature at which the brick was fired to. Once this is determined, I think you could spray glaze on for that temperature and re-fire the.

The temp. is probably as low as the manufacturer could go to harden the bricks into permanency.

I would start with cone 04-I am just guessing

You do not want to fire so hot that the brick becomes molten.

TJR..

Wow, thx for the tips. Is there a lab that could test the variety of bricks I have to test what temp it had been fired to? I tear down houses built across the ages, so I wouldn't be able to pinpoint a manufacturer. If the brick can't be pinpointed, could I take my chances and do a low temp fire for a long duration? If so, would any type glaze be recommended? Or type of kiln for experimenting? Thanks again for all tips!

what do you plan to do with the final product?  

i like building houses and using pre-owned products when i do.  haven't been able to build for 10 years but i anticipate building a small house and studio somewhere and leaving this wonderful location and its huge house.  just info so you realize i am not entirely unfamiliar with reclaiming building materials.