Cracked Bottoms In Drying Process

Hello, I am very new to this experience and don't quite know how to state things w/out getting too wordy:( But really need help w/an ongoing problem. My pieces keep cracking in the drying process. The latest are three slab bottoms to sculpture pieces. One is a planter box 14x10x9". I rolled out bottom slab approx. 1/2" thick, then the walls and let them get leather hard and attached , slipping and scoring w/magic water. When formed up I added a rope coil around corners and rim of box. I reinforced inside w/a small coil also. I formed it up on one table on a towel then after a day moved it to another to texturize. After a couple of drying days I moved it onto a thin board then onto my wire drying racks. All the time keeping it covered w/plastic bag to dry slowly. When I was moving it to wire rack I then noticed the bottom had cracked. It was leather hard at this point. Did I move it too soon from one table to the next or too many times in the process. Another piece I was working on but did not move at all was a bird bath/feeder. It too had a slab bottom around 17" in diameter w/ walls going up around 12". Another piece is a tea set try 14" in diameter. All were rolled out w/a heavy marble rolling pin, 1/2" thick. I use only Cone 5 clay. This is my most frustrating ongoing problem w/a lot of my pieces - vases, mugs, dishes, etc. small or large. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. P.S. Am sooooo enjoying and benefiting from the forum. Cyndi

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Cyndi,

I just noticed your post, haven't been on for a while.

This happened to me in the beginning too, so I FEEL your PAIN!.:( What is happening is that the outside walls are drying faster than the inside, and the difference in shrinkage is causing the cracking on the bottom. You want the middle to dry before the outer walls do.