Clay Mixer Help! So Not Sure What I Can/should Buy!

Sscott

Ok need some help! I'm a full time teacher and play with hand building in my free time but do sell at a gallery. I get dry clay from our local brickyard and have had it mixed at the school but the guy doing it now hates to do it and doesn't do it well. Soooo want to look into clay mixing myself. However, I can't afford a clay mixer so I've looked at other options like making a special barrel to roll around, modifying a cement mixer and using an industrial doug machine. I did find one that's a 20 liter smaller mixer for &350. I have no idea if it's going to be a good idea or not. I know it'll mix smaller amounts which might be good for me, arthritis in my thumbs. Any ideas or help or just to let me know I'm way out in left field would be great! Thanks a bunch!

Welcome to the forum.

I;m not sure where you are located (on this planet) but oldlady said it right clay is cheap so buying it would be your best bet.

If you have a thing about the brickyard clay a cement micer will not work. If you are near some population center (I have no idea where you are?) then I would try craigs list (still not sure if there is a craigs list in your country as you mentioned liters?)for a mixer or also there are some public/federal/state/county auction sites that also have these at times for cheap.

If you really want to mix clay by hand add lots of water mix (its easiers when wet goo slip) then dry it out for use.

Mark

mark, you must have noticed how many new posters do not enter their locations.  it is probably not reluctance on their part, but an inability to post it.   i have said this before THE SOFTWARE IS NOT FRIENDLY, IT TOOK ME A VERY LONG TIME TO GET MY LOCATION ACCEPTED.  telling "management" about this does not work.  

the site is free, we have to accept less than good.