Percentages of iron oxide

Vcope

We have access to 99% iron oxide through our closest supplier, however we find that 84% works better to get the best contrasts in our Temoku glaze. When looking at glaze formulas in texts and journals the percent content is usually not highlighted. We have found that Spanish RIO is not a direct substitution. I am just asking for clarification which iron is the best choice for trying out new glaze recipes.

Thank you for any information about this question.

V

I have been using spanish for many years now-before that The domestic was all I ever saw.

I also have used High Purity from US Pigments as well.

Back in the day Domestic was all that I recall was around.So we always used that in all recipes.

Now its spanish or High Purity for me.

Mark

Guest JBaymore

Test it.

best,

.........................john

That's your answer to everything.biggrin.gif

That IS the answer to everything. ;)

best,

......................john

Guest JBaymore

My students get frustrated with me because my answer to their questions is usually "it depends".

Ditto. It is the correct answer to EVERY question about ceramics. ;)

best,

Test it.

best,

That's your answer to everything.:D

Neil;

You know that you test everything as well. You are a bit of a glaze god yourself.[i almost typed teat there]

I still have the oldest Brent CXC:D:blink:B):P

I have been using spanish for many years now-before that The domestic was all I ever saw.

Back in the day Domestic was all that I recall was around.So we always used that in all recipes.

Mark

Is High Purity the same as what I see mentioned in recipies as 'Special" ?

Will higher purity improve any glaze it is used in, or only if asked for? I know a potter that insists it should always be used instead of the regular less expensive.

Mark

Is High Purity the same as what I see mentioned in recipies as 'Special" ?