Advice on kiln purchase

Avril

56 minutes ago, Avril said:

I’m looking to purchase a small kiln for hobby use. Could anyone offer advice on what I should be looking for please. Ideally I’d like a second hand kiln. Thank you in advance! 

What kind of space and electrical situation do you have? Are you going to work at cone 6? How often, how many and what size pieces do you plan to fire? What budget are you working with? 

Hi Stephen,

I want to set it up in the garage on a normal power supply. I have been on a number of courses and now want to start producing some pieces at home . It’s only for a hobby and I am a complete beginner so looking for a kiln that is small and easy to use. I’ve looked on line but I’m confused with the amount of choice. In terms of budget ideally I’d been looking at spending not more than £500 if that is realistic?  

Thank you

avril

4 hours ago, Avril said:

Hi Stephen,

I want to set it up in the garage on a normal power supply. I have been on a number of courses and now want to start producing some pieces at home . It’s only for a hobby and I am a complete beginner so looking for a kiln that is small and easy to use. I’ve looked on line but I’m confused with the amount of choice. In terms of budget ideally I’d been looking at spending not more than £500 if that is realistic?  

Thank you

avril

Hey Avril,

welcome to the board!

Well maybe normal power for small one. I bought a small 1 cf kiln as a test kiln. The place I bought it gave me a 20amp outlet and told me to swap out an indoor with it. I did this in my garage on a dedicated 110 and ran it that way for 5-6 years on an occasional basis BUT one of the kiln guys here recommended against this as the wire might not be rated properly. I just moved and had a dedicated 20amp run for it. So if you go with a 110/120 kiln I would talk to their support about it first.