Clay Body And Glaze Issues. Help!

tbaa

i tested some new glaze recipes recently, and the results were awful. A potter friend who looked at some of the glazed pcs, thought the clay may be the problem, not the glaze. The glazed piece he checked was still porous at the base, and apparently this means there wasn't enough flux in the clay body. I am using fine stoneware clay, and understand feldspar could be added.

How does one do this? Same as adding grog? I can certainly test different percentages.

The bisque firing was done at 940-950 deg. (1750 ish Fahrenheit) The glaze at cone 6. Would it help to re-fire the bisque at a higher temperature? Or use higher temp glazes on the existing pieces?

While I can try adding more flux to the clay body, and test that for new work, I am trying to work out how I can use glazes effectively on the pcs I have.

I hope this makes sense. I am quite new to much of this. Although I've used ready clay and glazes, I am new to mixing raw material for glazes, and have not made my own clay mixture (and hope I never have to!)

There are a lot of ways glazes can go wrong. Can you tell us what it did, or better yet, post a picture? What was it supposed to do? Did you get your clay out of a box? If so, what brand is it? If it's a clay from a class setting, you can ask your teacher what kind it is. Do you have the glaze recipe, or the brand off the bottle, if it's a pre-mix?

I would not endeavour to try wedging feldspar into an already mixed clay. The level of hassle would in no way be worth it.

If your clay is still porous after firing to cone six, refiring to bisque temperatures, which are lower, won't help. It will likely partially melt the glaze again, leaving it rough to the touch. If you take your current piece to cone 9 or 10, your cone six glaze will likely over fire and run off the pot. This one might not be fixable, but we can help you troubleshoot what happened for the next project.

TBAA