Elec. Kiln Advice, Please

The last 2 firing, my Skutt 1027 has been producing witness cones that are increasingly more different in temp readings. Just unloaded the third firing since I ve noticed this, It is WAY off. Thermocouple cone read perfect 6, tip just down, the bottom was a slightly bent ^5. That's almost 2 cones difference. I use 1/2 shelves with spaces between and have been doing fine temp wise until recently. I have a 25 minute soak at peak and no down draft vent of any kind. I have been firing for 2 years with no more than 1/2 cone difference throughout. Similar loading and size of work, same schedule

Does this mean the elements are wearing out? After I emptied it, I set it to ramp up at top speed, and watched until it reached 500*. Peeked in, the top 2 rings and the bottom 2 rings were glowing but the middle 8 rings had not kicked on yet. I checked the output 3 firings ago and the elements were firing as they should, but it's much more off now than then.

Any advice? This is the one and only elec kiln I have had, it's the original elements, and unfortunately, I did not keep a record of how many firings I have done . 60? bisque, 40 glaze? is a guess only.

Your uneven firing can be caused by a failed power relay, about $60, or one or more failed heating elements a set costs us about $200.  By the time you notice a difference in witness cones, or your electronic controller errs out, you've lost more than one heating element.

I'm a big fan of the "paper test" where you place paper strips under each element to find strips of paper which don't char within the first few minutes after firing the kiln on a fast speed. It's often more accurate than watching for glowing wires but provides somewhat less information than ohmmeters. A monthly paper test will tell you about failed elements long before witness cones do.