Website - looking to start online store?

Hello Everyone, 

I am a hobbyist potter (38 years) and recently a lot people have interest in purchasing my creations.    So I has decided to start a website to see if I could sell my creations.  Im not expecting to make a living off the profit at the moment.  But I would love to someday.  I figure that I need to start getting people to notice my stuff now.

For starters, how do you calculate you pricing?  What is standard profit %? I spend a lot of time glazing my pieces as I have a slight obsession  with the Peacock technique. 

I have several tech contacts whom suggested that I try to build it myself to save money and was suggested to try WIZ to create the website.  Any other suggestions?

I am in the process of creating a Instagram and Facebook pages.  Anywhere else that is easy to upload and update regularly.

I am also doing a markers market in December. 

What advice can you give me?  

You’ve asked some very broad and generalized questions that are difficult to answer. The best way to answer these questions is through experience, so my best advice is to move forward with your plans and see where it takes you. 

I would start with Instagram and Facebook accounts, these are very easy to initiate. Start posting photos of your work on the regular basis. Consistency is really important. You don’t need an e-commerce website to start with. You can simply include in your captions “DM me to arrange a purchase” or something along those lines. 

An e-commerce website is a much more complicated project compared to a social media account. You can tackle this when the frequency of your sales makes it necessary to give your customers an easier purchase process. It doesn’t really matter what platform you build your online store (Etsy, WIX, Square, Shopify, etc). They all come with costs, in one form or another. What’s important is how effectively you can drive traffic to your store.