Peter Pugger (VPM-20/20SS) not pugging

Kerstin

Hi all, I’m new to this so bear with me.

my workplace recently bought a Peter Pugger VPM-20-20SS and we are using DAS brand modeling clay. Other facilities in the company use this clay in this machine perfectly fine and have no issues. For some reason I keep having issues. I’ve finally gotten Peter to a point where I’ve made about 30 (6 x 3 inch) clay Patties. However it now either doesn’t pug out or does so very slowly before stopping an inch or so out. I’ve tried taking clay out, I’ve tried adding more clay, I’ve tried setting it, I’ve tried it all at this point. I figured out if I add too much it backs up into the vacuum chamber. So I take that out and try again, still nothing. 

I wanted to see if anyone has any helpful tricks or tips for a first time Pugger user before I reach out to the Peter Pugger company themselves.

thanks in advance :)

It has be be full to the brim and under maximum vacuum before it will pug out. During the mix cycle, some will inevitable squeeze back into the vacuum pump and shaft box, you just have to scoop it out after you've turned the machine off and put the scraps back in the mixing chamber for the next batch. The machine also needs to be full for the mix cycle, otherwise the clay just accumulates on the mixing arms and spins. The "T" bars on the ends of the arms are angled to push the clay from one end of the machine to the other for mixing and pugging, but if there isn't enough clay in the chamber to fill out to where the angled T bars are, nothing will happen.

I own this machine as well as well as  a VPM 30